By Godfrey Bivbere, with agency report

Nigeria Friday failed to get elected into the category C of the International Maritime Organisation, IMO.

Countries elected into that category were the Bahamas, Belgium, Chile, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Liberia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, Peru, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand and Turkey.

A statement from the IMO web-site showed that there are two other categories A and B and the total number of countries voted for to represent the international maritime community in the three categories were 40.

The Council is the executive organ of IMO and is responsible, under the Assembly, for supervising the work of the Organization. Between sessions of the Assembly, the Council performs all the functions of the Assembly.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Source: Vanguard News

Facebook Comments
IMO: Nigeria loses Council seat
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :